Primary school

Primary school education

Primary schools in Hafnarfjörður are intended for all children aged 6-16 years with legal domicile in Hafnarfjörður. Compulsory primary education is 10 years.

Ten primary schools are operated in the town, eight by the municipality but also there are Primary school of the Hjalla Policy and – progressive education with independent primary schools. Further information on the operation of individual schools can be found on the school website of respective schools.

List of primary schools   (in Icelandic)